Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

The Education of Al Capone as if told by Jimmy Durante

October 31, 2018 @ 12:00 am - November 25, 2018 @ 12:00 am EDT

| $10 – $30

Our member and Summer Farmers’/Artists’ Market singer, Rita Posillico is in the play. Sounds like fun!
Written & Directed by Dick D. Zigun
WARM BEER AND LOUSY PASTA SERVED DURING SHOWS – $5
The show is a Brechtian Cabaret with a LIVE JAZZ BAND circa 1918 that “samples” Jimmy Durante’s songs & routines while changing the words to bring you teenager Al Capone, getting the scars that earned his nickname Scarface: A Brooklyn TruStory performed 3 blocks from the spot of Al Capone’s knife fight, 100 years ago in Coney Island.

Audience will interact with performers, as if patrons of Coney Island’s HARVARD INN a dive bar and gangster hangout Circa 1918. Food fights, fist fights, even a few murders take place in the audience. The audience is also welcome to get up and dance and to drink beer and eat pasta.
THE ÉDUCATION OF AL CAPONE AS IF TOLD BY JIMMY DURANTE is a project of FUNHOUSE PHILOSOPHERS the resident experimental theater company at CONEY ISLAND USA funded in part by NYC Department of Cultural Affairs.

All Performances at:
Coney Island USA
1208 Surf Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11224
Friday, November 2
8 PM
Saturday, November 3
4 PM & 8 PM
Sunday November 4
4 PM

OPENING NIGHT
Friday, November 9
8 PM
$30
Sunday, November 11
4 PM
$20
Friday, November 16
8 PM
$20
Saturday, November 17
4 PM & 8 PM
$20
Sunday, November 18
4 PM
$20
Friday, November 23
8 PM
$20
Saturday, November 24
4 PM & 8 PM
$20
Sunday, November 25
4 PM
$20

Details

Start:
October 31, 2018 @ 12:00 am EDT
End:
November 25, 2018 @ 12:00 am EDT
Cost:
$10 – $30
Event Category:
Website:
https://www.coneyisland.com

Organizer

Events
Email:
Events@westburyarts.org